Friday Night is Symphony Night

Day 1 of Year 7 is done. I don't know huge amounts but she told me that they spent one break time in the boarding house ,staying in the boarding house long enough to have "house toast". She had been very excited about being able to have toast and fruit at breaks whenever they liked, so I am glad that happened as its a perk of senior school they all love. She loved her science teacher who even made lab safety seem fun. She had a history lesson which she liked but didn't sound like it had got going much yet. After school, she immediately took herself to practice in the boarding house apart from a five minute time when she spotted I was online so said hello while she was looking up a recording of one of her pieces. The absolute highlight of her day was "Friday Night Is Symphony Night". Musicians from across the school come together (loads of them apparently), sight read and explore a symphony for fun and eat chocolate. it's been the highlight of the start of term for her. They played Haydn 104 and I got a full caps "I LOVED IT". And the school shared this photo of the joyous chaos. She's in the back, just peeping out next to the saxophonist. 

Boarding is proving tricky but she loved her first day at school and I am pretty confident that this year, the glorious moments like Symphony Night, the benefits of daytime practice at school, the reduced academic timetable and new ensembles like jazz band will outweigh the struggles of boarding. Far outweigh, I suspect. It filled me with joy seeing this photo; this is why vocational school. This is why it will be worth the challenges. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.