Ironic

This photo, sent to me by Katie, makes me laugh. She was (very temporarily) worried because she'd missed out something important in an email that she sent, the photo was her explaining her realisation to me. I liked the irony....! 

Despite her protestations that boarding is rubbish, the glimpses I have had of her have suggested she's doing well. Some annoyances for her, no doubt, but she's had some great bits too. She is allowed up on a morning earlier than last year, which is a win for a start. They have a new daily plan on the wall which helps Katie no end. 

I was proud of her today - there was a preseason hockey training session. Not compulsory. She didn't want to do it. She felt pushed in to it. But after a little reassurance from me, she stood up for herself and didn't go. 

Apparently, they have glorious weather in wells this weekend, she has asked me to send her some more "hot weather" clothes, though I refused to send as much as she requested. They were supposed to be going swimming in the afternoon but it was changed to rounders. She was annoyed but still had fun. 

A special Wells thing in the boarding houses is Saturday "house food". It's a time they come together and have treat food, spend time together. They didn't really do it in the junior house but they are doing it in the new house and tonight was their first such time. A friend text me to say she'd briefly seen Katie when she'd dropped her own child back to the boarding house and Katie had answered the door. Apparently Katie was full of it, bouncing and beaming from ear to ear. And very excited about house pizza in the evening. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.