“Little book for Anne”

I’m back! This was the fourth, and last, in the series of exhibitions at the Parsonage in Haworth, focusing on each of the Brontë siblings in turn. This was Anne’s, postponed from last year (she was born in 1820). And it was in my opinion the best - no gimmicks or obscure themes, just the gentle story of her life using her words and drawings and objects she had used.

I loved this little book which Charlotte made for her when she was about 8 years old. One of the first of the ‘little books’, which always fascinated me when I was about the same age and was taken to the Parsonage by my grandparents. My mother says I made my own little books. Maybe my love of books came from this.

We drove here this morning and we are staying the night with friends who live in Haworth. Great to catch up after so long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.