BJH

By BJH

Turn, turn, turn

As expected it was a very busy morning but I did manage to take a couple of photos of my Amaryllis before my brother arrived here to have lunch with us, just in case I wouldn't find anything else to blip later. It started to snow rather heavily before we finished our meal so I was glad that he offered to give me a lift to the sanctuary instead of having to ride my bicycle or take the tram there.

It was very quiet at the park, probably because of the very cold wind and the snow. I normally don't take any photos during my walks with Jimmy, the sanctuary's Turkish Shepherd dog because I have to keep watching for other dogs but this time I did get the compact camera out of my bag for a few shots of the park that had started to look more like winter than spring.

I was in two minds about it but eventually decided to get off the tram on my way home to check on the Great Crested Grebes' and the swans' nests at the artificial island. This time the Grebe stayed firmly on theirs but I couldn't believe my luck when I saw the swan get up and go for a swim. I stayed and watched her until she eventually settled back on the 4 eggs about 3/4 of an hour later. By that time I had started to feel very cold and my hands were turning red and quite stiff.

I honestly thought that I was going to have trouble finding a blip today but I ended up being spoiled for choice and my only problem when I got home was deciding which of the photos of the swan with her eggs I was going to choose.

Thank you so much for all the lovely comments and stars on my Great Crested Grebes blip from yesterday. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.