Life's tangled skein

By atp

What Lurks Beneath

My PC stopped working yesterday evening. Well, not so much stopped working, more kept working but made a horrible - really horrible - noise whilst working. I opened it up and it was clear that the fan in the power supply was past its best. And to be fair to it, it has been running most of the four years I have had the PC, so it hasn't done too badly.

I know it's possible to take a power supply apart and fix things inside it, but I wasn't game for that. A power supply is a closed unit for a good reason, and so I went out and bought a replacement power supply and fitted that instead.

In the process, I came to realise just how good a PC is at its secondary role - domestic dust collector!

I'm glad to say that the PC is up and running again, and once more almost silent in its operation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.