Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

The Jones Family circa 1928

I posted a blip on 7th January showing my grandfather John Edmund Jones and his wife Elizabeth Mary Jones (nee Billington) taken in February 1911 on the occasion of the christening of their first child Dorothy May Jones.

I posted a further blip on 24th January of Dorothy (Dolly) taken during the Second World War.

Today's blip is a scan of the complete Jones family taken around 1928. Very few images of the whole family exist. My mother, Barbara, is the little girl in the front row. Barbara was born in 1926. On the front row with her are Bert, Kathleen and Eddy (who was killed in Africa in 1942)

On the back row are Granny Jones - (compare her with the image of 7th January - this is just 17 years but 7 children later) Dolly, Grandad, Edith (Edie) and Irene (Rene)

I'm posting this today as it is the 10th anniversary of my mother's death in 2003. Aunty Kath was the last to go a couple of years later.

Some themes are beginning to emerge in my journal now - family history being one of them. Maidstone is pretty regular too. The allotment will feature more as the weather hopefully improves. More shots of the Kent and East Sussex Railway will appear as the new operating season gets underway. Susan's crafts will continue to make an appearance. As will, of course our travels. And it's about time I posted some shots of the Noakes side of the family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.