Aliscotia

By Aliscotia

Kilchurn Castle

Backblip. We moved from Oban to Dumfries when I was two and a half and then to Balloch when I was six and then to Kirkintilloch when I was ten. From all these places we would return to Oban several times a year to visit relatives. It was where I went for my holidays for the most part. Kilchurn Castle was a landmark on the route than meant you were just 40 minutes from Oban. It was built in the mid 1400s by the Campbells. I booked Loch Awe for three nights so Rob and I could get pics of this iconic Castle. 
Having taken the more traditional view (two image stitch in extras) we decided to walk out on the promontory to see it close up. I hung around to get shots of it surrounded by the golden grasses and Rob walked on as he had his wide angle lens for a close up. Both of us were mid photography when we became aware of an engine noise and suddenly this place swooped down over the Loch and the Castle. After a sudden exclamation I started shooting away and got three shots with the plane in, Rob got similar. Although this is a modern plane, it had the feel of a Lancaster bomber in shape and we both felt it made the shots and just added atmosphere to the shots. 
Even if none of the shots had come out we had the most fun afternoon taking photographs and being close to this amazing historic Castle. 
Another historic Castle will be my backblip for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.