JournoJan

By JanPatienceArt

Baldernock Church at Dusk

There was a chunky big full moon tonight on my left hand side as I drove past Baldernock Parish Church. I stopped to take a photo of the moon but it was the church and the view beyond which drew me in.
My husband and I got married here on a snowy late December day. It's a beautiful spot overlooking Glasgow and beyond to Ayrshire.
You can see the wind turbines on Fenwick Moor on a clear day.
An interesting piece of history... The little building at the entrance to the churchyard was built for local people to keep a night watch for body snatchers who prowled remote graveyards in the 19th century looking for skeletons to sell to medical schools.
Baldernock Kirk was also the setting for a hit play, first performed in 1911 at the Haymarket Theatre in London, called Bunty Pulls the Strings.
I saw a portrait recently in the Tickling Jock exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery in Edunburgh of its author, Graham Moffat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.