Every Day Art, Glasgow Style

I had a meeting at GoMA in Glasgow today with the Director of Timespan, the Helmsdale-based museum and arts centre.
I did some work with Timespan last year when it launched its Clearances Trail App ahead of the 200th anniversary of the Clearances from the Strath of Kildonan in Sutherland.
They do great work there and hopefully we'll be working together again soon.
Afterwards, I had time for a very quick scout around Every Day, a new exhibition in GoMA's ground floor gallery, which features work by six Glasgow-based artists.
Maybe I wasn't in the right frame of mind for it but it all seemed a bit head-scratchy to me.
The work has been selected for its use of everyday materials. None of it was captioned so wasn't sure what was what.
I imagine people who are not art school students or graduates coming in off nearby Buchanan Street and feeling they are not clever enough for this art. And that makes me feel quite uncomfortable.
I don't think art should be easy or pretty. I just want to connect with it and apart from a blackboard-style work with giant chalks, nothing really stood out for me.
Afterwards, heading out into the street, I spotted this policeman walking towards one of Glasgow's unofficial every day sculptures - the traffic cone on top of the Duke of Wellington's head.
Blipped!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.