Amandine's Plot Treize

By AmandineJardine

Leek and parsnip

When I started a new teaching job during lockdown last January, my line manager and I had a walk around the allotment the first time we met in person. He brought veg seeds! We got on quickly. How could you not like someone who gives you veg seeds the first time you meet?

There were two varieties of leek and they've both done quite well apart from a bit of rust, which I can live with as it doesn't affect the taste.

The parsnip seeds I got from an allotment friend. The parsnips are equally delicious but a nightmare to peel! With parsnips and carrots,  I've learned that the leaves aren't a good indication of what you're going to find in the soil. These are badly forked. BUT very tasty. Must try growing carrots and parsnips in sand next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.