Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

On the front line?

Today I was one of eight people from the same agency who were helping the school staff ‘marshal’ students into the hall for their vaccinations. We’d all been told yesterday it was for flu but it was actually for Covid, so it really felt like we were taking part in quite a(n) historic event.

The vaccines were administered by a team of NHS nurses and my role was to reassure and advise the students while they waited in line, as well as going into the hall with any who were worried about getting ‘jabbed’. All 12 to 15-year-olds are eligible for the vaccine now but only about 50% had consent. The nurses said that’s around the same level as across the whole country.

It was great meeting so many other supply staff, the students were heroes and it was by far the most fun I’ve ever had at a school, even if it was more than an hour away. The school I’m at tomorrow is only half an hour from home, which is just as well as I’m knackered!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.