Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Catch-22?

Had a couple of sessions teaching literacy in the SEND department today and had the two bottomest bottom sets for history. It was quite challenging but I really enjoyed it… and a TA thought I was actually a ‘dedicated history teacher’ so I guess it went OK!

I’ve been asked to go to another school tomorrow to help the NHS nurses with the students’ flu vaccinations, which should be interesting - if different! - but I’ve also been offered a long-term placement as a school receptionist from next week.

Although the role’s obviously still within a school environment and term time only, which is good, I can’t help being a little concerned that I’ll never get a permanent teaching job unless I’m teaching… but can’t teach if I’m the receptionist!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.