Beewriter

By Beewriter

Janet

Janet and I are often mistaken for each other. We don’t actually look alike, but we usually wear our hair the same way. She is older than me, but she is slimmer so I don’t mind. Her husband works in transport and he once came over to speak to me as I was doing the driver checks on the lorry and thought I was Janet.

During one session I told a donor about a good book I’d read whilst I put her needle in. I wrote the title on the aftercare leaflet for her. Janet took the needle out and when she put the plaster on the donor’s arm she saw the leaflet was missing so she said she would go and find one. The donor ‘reminded’ her that ‘I’ had already given it to her. Janet said that she hadn’t. The donor insisted she had and showed her it with the book title. (I’m always talking books with donors) “Ahhh,” said Janet and she called me over.

When it was Shakespeare’s anniversary I insisted that Janet only talked to me in rhyming couplets. We did it the whole day!

I enjoy working with my doppelgänger, Janet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.