Frame

Autumn has arrived. Temperatures are low and there's a freshness in the air.
Cycled to town for bread, cheese and coffee beans from the market. 

Some sketchers were there - extra.

After lunch, dog walk and a bit of reading.
Just finished Prague Spring by Simon Mawer about the Russian invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968.  The historical event resonated with me as at the time, living in Cyprus, I met a fellow child of my age who was Czech.  Her father was a United Nations diplomat.  She explained how the Russian invasion impacted her family.  Her father could be out of Czechoslovakia but the other members of the family once they'd returned could no longer travel outside the Soviet.  It was my first encounter with the significance of Soviet control and what it meant for people.  I wasn't impressed but saddened by it.

Now reading The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman.

Have a pleasant Friday evening and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.