XSworld

By XSworld

Autumn hawker

On my usual walk by the river I met a southern hawker. He was hunting insects in the afternoon sun. It was fun to watch but impossible to catch with the camera. From a distance I saw him attack an insect arriving from below, flying upwards and catching the pray in air. I was impressed and made snapshots in my brain. Then I continued my walk as I was hunting too, with my camera. When I passed the same spot again an hour later on the way back I saw the hawker flying fast as a missile, back and forth in a small open space in the woods. Then all of a sudden he landed on a red leaf right in front of me as if he had decided he wanted to become today's blip. I couldn't help wondering if he was the same one I had photographed shivering under a leaf a couple of weeks ago. Would he have remembered?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.