Hummingbird

Kalyn painted this little glass hanging ornament a few years ago for us. It hangs beside the table and I look at it often. This morning there was a slight bit of sunrise colour in the sky coming through the trees, and some of it was picked up in the hummer. I've tried many times to get a good shot of a live hummer with no success.  :-)
I had asked one of Kalyn's teammates if she knew where I could get a copy of the Student-Athlete Unity Pledge that was read at Seniors' Night and that I mentioned in the blip on the 7th. She was one of the two from K's team that read part of it. She brought it to the game on Saturday night for me. So thoughtful! Here it is, if you're interested. Powerful words that brought tears to our eyes.
I am and NCAA student-athlete and I pledge to be a Champion of Unity on my team, on my campus, and in my community.
I pledge to stand against all forces of division and separation. I pledge to embrace differences and strive for inclusion and collaboration.
I pledge to stand against racism, hate, and discrimination. I pledge to strive for love, care and forgiveness. 
I pledge to stand against silence, deceit, and obscurity. I pledge to strive for dialogue, truth and understanding.
I pledge to stand against fear and doubt. I pledge to strive for trust and belief in one another.
I pledge to stand against complacency and stagnancy. I pledge to strive for change and growth.
I commit to supporting my fellow student-athletes in all circumstances that impact them. I commit go both choosing unity personally and encouraging it for all.
I pledge these things because we are stronger together. 
#UnitedAsOne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.