fly away...

...from me

oh, great blue heron...

you magnificent bird - i know i got too close to you - and you needed to fly away...

i wasn't expecting to see him today - it was such a marvelous surprise - when i was really on the hunt for my first sighting of a spring robin - instead got many wonderful shots of flying ducks being frisky - not to mention geese frolicking about - and then - then... i rounded a corner on the path - nearly stumbling over the great one - so not expecting him was i... boo!

yet there he was - in perfect form - standing ever so still as if waiting for me - quietly in repose - while i snapped off several shots - a wonderful portrait of calm, grace, beauty... but i had to have more, people! i wanted to get closer! it ended up being my demise - for in wanting - he denied me - lifting those huge wings in flight - heading off over the water so blue - while i said a silent goodbye as i shot parting pics of him - i don't regret my action - only that it ended too soon... as always, i'm grateful for the seeing - the interaction - with the great blue - it made me a happy girl - and gave me...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.