54th Anniversary treat

Mr C surprised me this morning with a bouquet of red roses - this is a rare occurrence - so rare I can remember the other 2 times. Once was for my 21st birthday and the other a few years again when he was away trekking in Sikkim.

Normally we’d go out for a meal for our wedding anniversary but this year we had a change. I fancied the Van Gogh immersive experience and Mr C was happy to make the 230 mile round trip drive to York for the day.

I loved it but he fell asleep! It was very soothing. The images constantly changed and moved - in the cherry blossom one the petals floated around. No masks were worn by others but it was in a church and had only a few people there.

York itself was quiet apart from the snaking queue round Betty’s tearooms. Over-rated in my opinion. Any Scottish baker does better cakes and scones. It’s the first time in years I’ve seen the Peruvian pipers about - they were beautifully dressed too.

We had our sandwiches by the river and went back to the car via some Roman ruins and an abbey garden. A guide was giving the Henry VIII schpiel to some tourists around the ruins.

It’s been a lovely day. Despite it being a weeknight we’ll open champagne tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.