Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Which one am I?

My placement covering for a staff member who's in hospital is going well but I had a bit of a hiccup today when a student complained that I'd called her a 'unicorn'. I'd actually called her a ‘foghorn'.  :-DDD

Don't worry, everything's fine. It was witnessed by my Head of Department, who confirmed it was all in context, and I'm not in any trouble. In fact, I've since been told that they think I'm incredible, they are hugely grateful I'm there, I've taken a great weight off their shoulders and they think how I deal with even the most challenging students and the amount of work they do for me is brilliant... and they don't want me to ever leave, although I'm sure I will have to. There are a couple of students who rarely go to lessons and just the fact that they stay in my classroom, are engaged in the lesson and do some work has also been commented on. The school has now booked me until at least the Christmas holidays, which is great, but it's hard work, hence my lack of commenting on here (again!).

The trouble is, the more I hear things like this, the more disillusioned I am with the whole education system. Really not sure I want to continue as a teacher after Christmas... something to think about, anyway.

This interesting piece of artwork was on the windowsill in my classroom and I thought it was appropriate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.