XSworld

By XSworld

Dewdrops 3/7

It is probably too much to ask Mother Nature to collaborate on a Dewdrop photographing project for 7 straight days. So already on day three I woke up to an insistent rain. Dew doesn't form when it is raining like that and therefore I cannot photograph dew today. Can't I just take and use a photo of raindrops? Well, dewdrops and raindrops aren't quite the same phenomena! Both are water, true. But whereas raindrops form high in the sky and fall down (in this case insistently for hours) wetting everything homogeneously, the dew forms by condensation of water present in the air as it cools down and the physics of the two phenomena are just completely different. For example, the  "baubles" on 1/7 photo I posted on saturday are a result of the fact that everything in nature seeks the lowest possible energy state and therefore the drop accumulates on the pointed end of thin conical growths. Dr. Shanahan in Bordeaux uses quite complicated mathematics to arrive at this conclusion but we can easily observe this phenomenon in nature. No mathematics needed. The formation of dewdrops on plants in general depends on whether the surface in question is hydrophilic, hydrophobic or superhydrophobic, but I think I'll have to come back to that another day. For today's blip I'm using a photo from yesterday (as I had reserved the right to do when I set the rules for the challenge) hoping it doesn't offend anyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.