Alone Again (Naturally)

Day two of being on my own and I’ve gone feral. Whereas some people would no doubt rustle up some sort of healthy and wholesome meal using fresh ingredients, I am eating an out of date microwaveable meal followed by an equally out of date cream cake. The observant amongst you will have noted that the meal is all in one tray, which is a bonus as it means no plates will be dirtied tonight. That’s right, I’m going to eat it straight out of the plastic container and I’m not even sorry.
A reasonably productive day though. The interior of the airing cupboard is now prepped as far as it can be until the hot water cylinder comes out on Thursday. The majority of the holes have been filled or covered and rough or flaking paint has been removed. I’m not too bothered about getting perfectly smooth surfaces - it’s only the inside of an airing cupboard after all - as long as I can get a couple of coats of white paint on before Friday.
Two disappointing emails today. We had tickets to see Grayson Perry doing his one man show in Kendal on Sunday, but he has tested positive for covid so it’s been postponed to a future (as yet unspecified) date. And Brian Wilson has cancelled his concert at Bridgewater Hall in Manchester, scheduled for next July. Not sure if that’s covid related as well and the email does say they’re working to try and agree another date. I’m not holding my breath though, given that it’s already been postponed twice. I suspect I will get a follow up email in due course advising that I have been refunded.
Temperatures have dropped dramatically today. It’s not forecast to warm up any time soon, so I’m really hoping everything goes smoothly at the end of the week as I don’t fancy being without heating or hot water for longer than a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.