ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Medicine Jar

Having taken up running in the first lockdown, I achieved my goal of running 10K before I turned 60, but then started to suffer with my knees.
My right knee had always been dodgy after I dislocated it in my early thirties whilst rock climbing, so no real surprise when that started objecting to regular running. I started wearing a support - which helped - but I think It may also have transferred the problem to the left knee. It got to the stage where I could run 5K, but I’d be in a lot of pain at the end and could barely walk for the next few days, and couldn’t do another run for at least 10 days.
Then a friend who’d had similar issues suggested trying Marine Collagen as it had helped her. Nothing to lose, so I started taking it a couple of months ago. I was told it might take six to eight weeks to work, and that seems to be about right. Running has definitely been getting easier in the last couple of weeks and today I managed a second 5K within four days and with no strapping on the left knee. Quickest time for a month and nary a twinge at the end. Even went for a walk of similar length this afternoon, I was feeling so good!
I’m still wearing a support on my right knee as a precaution, but it’s definitely a lot better than it was. Whether it’s down to the tablets, the exercise or just the passage of time I can’t say but, as I picked up 8 months worth of tablets in the recent Holland & Barrett “penny sale”, I think I’ll be taking them for a while yet. And the added bonus is that they’re doing wonders for my complexion as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.