photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 89 of 365 - Easter at Coventry Cathedral!

Welcome to day 89 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken early this morning. I had just dropped off my daughter at Choir practice, before she sang in the Cathedral Easter Eucharist. While I was waiting I took a few images around the ruins of the Old Cathedral. I choose this image as I liked the way that the Bronze Tomb helped frame the image. I had already seen another similar picture to this on Google+ and wanted to shoot my own take on it. The image is of the Tower and spire of the Old Coventry Cathedral in the background. In the foreground is the Bronze Tomb of Bishop Huyshe Wolcott Yeatman-Biggs. He was the first Bishop of Coventry after St. Michael's became a cathedral (now the ruined old Cathedral) in 1918. I have just read that the Bronze Tomb was the only object within the cathedral to survive the blitz in the Second World War.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App KitCam for iPhone. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used Snapseed to edit the image. The edits were made by sharpening the image and then adding some extra structure. I then boosted the Ambiance of the whole picture. Then added Brightness, Contrast and Saturation locally to the bronze tomb in the foreground. I then straightened the picture a little. Finally I used the App Wood Camera to add the Birds to the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.