Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Spider Games

I looked up at the metal hummingbird mobile hanging under the porch while we were enjoying our lunch, and noticed a small white thing on the beak of one of the birds. I thought it was a spider or maybe a small flower.

When I got the stepladder and climbed up with my camera, I could see that it was a spider unlike any I'd seen before. It was camera-shy and moved to the other side of the beak. I moved the stepladder to the other side and the spider retreated again. We repeated this a few times before I got tired of the game.

It was very difficult trying to shoot macro standing on the ladder with very contrasty lighting -- it's a very small spider. This is the best of a bad bunch of photos.

Cynthia did a little Google research and determined that it was a Goldenrod Crab Spider -- I think a female.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.