What a day!!

A long entry !
This is the wonderful first day for my birthday weekend arranged by my sons. All I was told was to be in London by a certain time!
First we went to my son and gf’s new flat in Hammersmith ( yes she loved the cowl!), easy to get to , 2 hours door to door. My older son was there too. After coffee we headed off to Commercial Road where we went to the Van Gogh Immersive experience. You may remember I went to one in Birmingham in June- this was as good but totally different and very enjoyable for all. After an introduction gallery there was a totally immersive experience where you lay in deckchairs and let the paintings move over and around you ( hard to explain!)
We went for lunch at Spitalfields Market where the strangest thing happened… a young girl came up to me and asked Are you Sally? Yes
Do you have a cousin called David? Yes
Well I’m his daughter Lizzie!

What are the chances? I haven’t seen my cousin for decades although we are friends on FB ….. from where she’s recognised me!!!

She’d spotted me , quickly asked her dad for a photo, he’d taken one off my FB page of me and R and once she saw that, realised we were the people she thought we were , came up to us. She lives in Norfolk, is at uni in Birmingham but was down visiting friends! A real quirk of fate and of course I was able to introduce her to my sons , who thought it hilarious to meet an unknown relative ! So this had to be the picture for today.

After that the five of us headed off to St Katharine Dock via my sons office on Dock Street which he wanted us to see. Cocktails were drunk at the dock before we headed back to our lovely hotel off Gloucester Rd, arranged by the kids. Now resting in the suite before meeting up for dinner in Soho. I’m feeling very blessed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.