A brief spell of sun

and then the northerly breeze picked up.

I finished packing up the swimming pool. Seems a long time since the temp went over 40c and Italy broke the European hottest temperature record- 48c.

We’re now watching increasing travel restrictions and wondering if we’ll get back to Scotland for Christmas after missing out last year.

I bought a tin of Danish Butter Cookies from Sylvia and Louisa’s shop. I wonder when the Danish biscuit won it’s pre-eminence as a European festive biscuit.

More on the rise of Danish butter cookies from one massive manufacturer it seems here https://www.biscuitpeople.com/magazine/post/danish-butter-cookies

Fun fact: If the yearly consumption of sealing tape/scotch tape from Jacobsen’s cookies was stretched into one long line it would reach from Copenhagen to Sydney and half way back (26,280 km).

I wonder how many people annually manage to skewer themselves with a knife or other inappropriate object trying to get that sealing tape off the tins.

Gerry Seinfeld might have said:

What is it with people buying Danish cookies in tins at Christmas? Are they thinking ‘Now that tin looks really useful so I’ll eat my way through two pounds of butter and sugar so I’ve got somewhere to keep my medical receipts’. That should work, shouldn’t it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.