Sparklers

More rubbish sleep, a morning spent online training and the afternoon back to it.

More sorting this evening.
I’m lighting these heart shaped sparklers a bit late. They were given to us on our wedding day and we had them on the mantlepiece ever since. Seems like a good time for them to go as they belong here and there’s no new mantlepiece.
I knew all of this would feel shit but, as usual, we don’t know what particular variety of shit until we get stuck in.
I found a photo that P took of me carrying a box of stuff over the threshold as we moved in here. I look very happy and certainly don’t recall any of the stress of moving (although do remember thinking we might die trying to haul the astoundingly heavy sofa bed in); just excitement and happiness.

I overdosed on cavolo nero with my potato, leek and fennel bake and watched Alistair Campbell’s ‘Winter Walk’ this evening and he read this poem of Emily Bronte’s ...

The Night is Darkening Round Me

The night is darkening round me,
The wild winds coldly blow;
But a tyrant spell has bound me,
And I cannot, cannot go.

The giant trees are bending
Their bare boughs weighed with snow;
The storm is fast descending,
And yet I cannot go.

Clouds beyond clouds above me,
Wastes beyond wastes below;
But nothing drear can move me;
I will not, cannot go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.