Thursday: Square

We finally had some sun today after weeks of rain, which was wonderful.  I had a meeting this morning (involving waffles, always a bonus) about a 20 minute walk from the office so I definitely got to enjoy it.

Tonight was the annual Christmas dinner for all my international colleagues.  It’s always a bit of a hoot, mainly for the entertainment value of its quirkiness and the things that go wrong.  My particular favourite was the Mexican dance troupe - the music system failed so it was just a bunch of people hopping and swaying around in silence………

It was my job to introduce the guest of honour but, quite categorically, not to thank her.  That was agreed at our last meeting (when we also spent 20 minutes on the question of ‘bon-bons’ - which turned out to be Werther’s Originals - from Dollarama).  Anyway, that role was supposed to fall to another colleague who spent minutes bickering with me as to who was supposed to do it, all while we’re sitting right next to said Guest of Honour.  

Is it any wonder I find these things so entertaining?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.