Friday: Watching You

Well, I’ve had my first hair cut in Belmopan.  Not my first in Belize, that was in Placencia.  Finding a new hairdresser is always so stressful.  I was particularly upset when the last hairdresser I found in Ottawa earlier this year, whom I was only able to go to once before we left, gave me THE best haircut I’ve had in years.  Ottawa does seem a long way to go……..anyway, today’s effort isn’t dreadful……….

This sign amused me.  In a fit of neighbourliness, my colleague signed me up for the Belmopan Neighbourhood WhatsApp group.  Oh my - there is clearly no such thing as libel or slander here.  Anybody they don’t like the look of, they’ll post a photo and tell people to be extra vigilant around ‘these strangers’.  I fully expect to see myself on there at some point.  

And the amount of bickering that goes on there between officials and residents is quite bizarre.  It was fun for a while but I’ve muted it now.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.