Reid’s Palace Hotel

Famous.
Loved by Winston Churchill (and, if you ask nicely and there aren’t any guests in there, they will take you to the suite he always used.)
Wonderful.
And chosen as the second “Amazing hotels of the world” in tonight’s broadcast on BBC2. I’ve set it to record.

I wouldn’t swap it for the Royal Savoy, though.

However, I love to go to Reid’s. I prefer a cocktail on the terrace at sunset. The afternoon tea doesn’t match up to some of the best London ones (especially the cakes… I wonder if Monica will comment.)

And my favourite is to attend one of their marvellous chamber concerts. They are free to their guests but we are allowed to buy tickets at €20 each. This includes a drink (not a cocktail) and is fabulous value.

I called in to buy two tickets for the Wind Quintet Atlantida who are appearing on Thursday evening.
It’s Beethoven and Debussy.

And while I was there I asked the lovely concierge if I could take a couple of photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.