Christmas lights

Yes. I know this is a daytime photo. I haven’t been out to view the lights yet and I hope to post a photo when I do (perhaps as an extra later this evening.)

The Funchal lights are legendary. The shape and contours of the city with so many levels give such opportunities for drama and creativity.

Last year a friend and I went to see them by tuk tuk. Brilliant, but when I asked about this year, it seems they’ve tripled the price.

As I walked down into town this morning, trying to avoid the torrential downpours, I noticed this year’s version of the tunnel. Last year it was a conventional tube, effective, but nowhere near as unusual as this. Plus, I rather liked the effects against the troubled and dramatic sky.

Watch this space.

Edit. I went back in on the bus and enjoyed the lights. Extra - the tunnel as it grew dark. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.