Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Big Treat Tonight!

Archie’s big box of dog food was being delivered this morning, so again, I could not lie a-bed for too long. And it came at the appointed time. The driver, Derek, was in shorts and a tee shirt, as usual!

I have taken to listening to LBC radio of a morning. I always thought it was London Broadcasting Company, but it stands for ‘Leading Britain’s Conversation ‘. Boy! There are VERY many people who are VERY angry with our politicians’ behaviours of late. No, not ‘of late’ - there just seems to be more of it coming to light at present.

The only drawback is that every 10 minutes or so there’s a segment of shouty adverts, many of them ending with terms and conditions AT DOUBLE SPEED! Excruciatingly annoying.

We dropped a few bags of stuff at the charity shop, then JR took Archie for a walk while I drove to the Post Office. When I first came back to live here, 20-odd years ago, there were TWO local POs. Now, there are none in the area.

In the afternoon I decided to start my new RE-conditioning regime (my cardiologist says my heart is DE-conditioned). I put Archie’s harness on - he walks much better with that, no stopping at every lamppost and sniffing at every hedge. And so we stepped out, quite fast. I kept it up for about 2,000 steps, then had to revert to my normal pace. 

We came round by Victor Hugo’s Deli, which was in darkness, though I could see it was open. They’d had a power cut, and could only accept cash. I only have my phone nowadays - no cash. I wanted a couple of pain au raisins, so she said I could just have them. I assured her I’d be back to pay for them.

Archie is going to visit Pip this evening, while we go to - wait for it - the cinema! Elizabeth gave us a voucher for the Gold Standard experience at our local family run cinema, but we’ve been waiting forever for a film we actually wanted to see. So tonight we’re going to see ‘The House of Gucci’. We’re very excited - Archie, not so much. He’s going to Pip’s house, as we’ll be away about 4 hours. He’ll probably skulk in the furtherest corner of their house. But they mustn’t take it personally - he does that with us too, perhaps if there’s been a wee noise on the tv that he doesn’t like. Funny wee man…

I noticed these gorgeous tiny wee shiny berries (they were the size of a Tic-Tac) on a hedge on the way home and thought they looked quite festive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.