Doca da Cavacas

The blue and white building so strategically placed is the Doca da Cavacas. I was taken there first in 2010 and have been back probably every visit.

Magnificent fresh scabbard fish, parrot fish, or prawns, octopus, squid - all fresh from these waters so close to Camara da Lobos.

They also make the very best passion fruit pudding you’ll find in Madeira.

This morning, I walked into town and sat in the cathedral for quiet reflection about my wonderful nephew who I miss so dreadfully. There was wonderful music, organ and choral singing. (Luckily masks hide quite a lot.)

I caught the bus out to the place in my blip, met up with my friend who had walked there, and had our excellent lunch.

I think, nay hope, that we have successfully negotiated the hurdles put in the way of tourists, often with little or no notice. It’s been stressful getting the right verification, codes, booking references. And just don’t mention the PLF !  Passenger Location Form - the nightmare of many pages required by the Government (and which nobody looked at last time.)

Hassle ? Yes.
Stress ?  Yes.

But worth every minute of it.
Madeira has been the very best medicine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.