Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Cover Up

THURSDAY

I went into Huddersfield this morning for a routine eye test at Boots Opticians. 

In pre-pandemic times I used to go into the office in Huddersfield on a daily basis but, since March 2020, I don't think I have been into town more than half-a-dozen times. I was surprised how busy it was in the town centre and also how many shops seem to have changed hands.

I parked well away from the centre and had a pleasant walk into town through Greenhead Park (see extra).

I was apprehensive about going to the opticians and nearly cancelled, but apart from having to drop my mask momentarily to stop the lenses steaming up, it seemed a very Covid-secure set-up. My eye health was found to be very good and my near vision has improved slightly since my last eye test. My scan result of one of my eyes is shown in the extra.

I didn't hang around in town afterwards. I didn't feel too comfortable in the busy street and lots of people were not wearing masks or social distancing.

The main blip shows the George Hotel which has recently been purchased by Kirklees Council and is undergoing complete renovation. It was previously shrouded by ugly scaffolding  but today I noticed this has been covered by attractive canvas screening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.