Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Well Hello!

I have lived at Wombat Hollow for 21 years now and despite being on constant lookout I have never, every seen a Tawny Frogmouth. I’m not sure why I turned the outdoor light on.  It was just as I was heading off to bed but I’m so pleased I did.  To my great surprise I spotted this beautiful Tawny sitting on top of the sprinkler head.  The bird was using the sprinkler as a lookout as we could see him keenly observing the ground below.  
I had to shoot on auto (rapid fire) and try my best to use the kitchen bench like a Tripod to get a half decent image.  Not easy to shoot through a window at 10.00 o’clock at night :).  I’m going to make a habit of checking out the sprinkler head before I go to bed each night.  You never know your luck!!


Tawny Frogmouths are part of the Tawny species and not an Owl and it’s a bird native to the Australian mainland and Tasmania

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.