Another fine mess!!

I visited my friend/neighbour recently and ended up with the back of my jumper covered in feathers!! We realised that the duck feathers were escaping from the inner cover of one of the large cushions which form the back of the settee. I offered to cover the inner cushion of the offending item, on the condition that it was done in her house!!

Armed with the necessary material (old sheeting) and tools, we unzipped the outer cover and were faced with all these feathers!!

Change of plan, measured the cushion, home to make a new inner cushion with a zip and then back to set about emptying all the feathers out into black bags. What a mess!!

We found the original inner cover with about half the original quantity of feathers still in it. I sewed up the splits in the material, put that cushion inside the new cover and then packed the remaining feathers from the black bags. The end result is like new!!

We had laid down a large sheet to work on and at the end the job there was a fair collection of feathers to be shaken out for the birds in the garden. Their des res's will be the most luxurious in the neighbourhood!!!

By the time I got home I was also covered in feathers!! Another load of washing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.