Croft16

By Croft16

Greenhouse No 2, gone potty..

..I grow most of my brassicas in cells, a small tray is about 3 x 3.5 inches, with 4 x 5 cells=20. I fill with compost, dib a small hole, and then with tweezers place one seed in each cell. Once the plants are showing true leaves I move them on to 7 cm square pots, 3 x 5 to a seed tray, and move them to No 2 greenhouse to grow on.

I have built staging between No 1 and No 2 greenhouses, where I can place trays to harden off, before planting out. Today I've been potting on most of the early sowings. You can see the peas and beans I planted some time ago on the staging, along with the asparagus plants I grew from seed last year.

It's been a lovely day, and I've also been planting the last few (86) hazel trees I had in root trainers. A few went around the poly-tunnel to grow into windbreaks, some went up around the Artichokes I planted, and some have just been planted in patches around the croft.

I will get on and do some of the other jobs I should be doing one day..

I ordered some pots (1500 v 7 cm) and trays for them from a company in Essex on Tuesday, they arrived today and I've started using them.. Very pleased with them..

music, John Lee Hooker with Steve miller..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.