West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Habbie's Hoose

Habbie Simpson was the town piper of Kilbarchan. People born in Kilbarchan are informally known as "Habbies" to this day.

This is the Steeple Building in Kilbarchan it has an alcove on the outside of the tower which is home to a statue of Simpson. The original statue was carved in wood by Archibald Robertson of Greenock and erected in 1822. The current statue, dating from 1932, is made of bronze. Kilbarchan's annual Lilias Gala Day celebrations are headed up by a young piper who will dress as Habbie.

I liked the clock face, I never knew of the statue until I saw it tonight and a quick text to a friend in Kilbarchan gave me the background to the building which is used as a community hall, I liked the steeple and the ashlar stone work, the character just appealed to me and I hope you enjoy the Habbie Tale too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.