NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Revving Up

My first car was a Morris Minor, and I loved it. This is a bit of a later version than mine, but good to see that it's still on the road. I used to spend hours on my car, doing it up - bodywork mostly. In those days cars were all rust buckets, and the Morris used to go around the headlights, on the wings and at the bottom of the doors. I also had a Morris Traveller, like this one, which had a hole in the floor so big it was possible to get both feet through. They were crank starters as well, so if it wouldn't start on a cold morning it was possible to wind it up. My father used to put a blanket over his engine under the bonnet at night in winter - like a horse! Cars now are different creatures of course, and much, much better. This one was parked on the street on my way to the bus-stop this evening. It shouted blip at me.

LARGEr than life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.