Hogmanay

The last day and the last Flower Friday of 2021. Sarah and Chris gave me these lovely carnations four weeks ago today to cheer me up and they are still doing the job today, bringing some welcome colour on a dreich Hogmanay afternoon.

I've had a quiet day, doing some housework, making a cake, going for a walk and starting a new jigsaw from Mum and Dad. It will soon be time to cook the tea. I'm sure we see the New Year in tonight, a quiet celebration as it will be for many this year, I'm sure.

Our presents are still under the Christmas tree - we always exchange our gifts at New Year, and I read recently that this is in fact an old Scottish custom - the first Monday of the year was known as Handsel Day (handsel being a word for gift) and celebrated with a special dinner and the giving of presents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.