Sandcrab Blips

By Sandcrab

Nurse Peattie's Garden

AYWMC (A Year With My Camera) suggests doing a big project, starting at the start of the year. I've been toying with the notion of creating a photographic record of places where I've lived. Highly personal, not about taking better photos, not a mechanical record of houses, but something that speaks to me and not necessarily anyone else. Self-indulgent or therapeutic? Anyway today I visited the bungalow that was my home for the first 5 years of life. I've been back before but not on my own, and it was more affecting than anticipated, and the house (not shown) was smaller of course.

Nearby is Nurse Peattie's Garden, a memorial garden to the district nurse who served the area for 30-odd years until her death aged only 57. Seeing the name, I remember my parents mentioning her - she looked after my mother when she was expecting me.

The inscription reads:
THIS GARDEN IS A MEMORIAL TO ELIZABETH PEATTIE DISTRICT NURSE 1936 - 1963

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.