Too much TV?

I was so pleased to wake up to sunshine (though it didn't last) to begin what was an ordinary but pleasant day. Late morning was of course the New Year's Day concert from Vienna on BBC2 though I missed much of it as I forgot the time difference as I'm accustomed to watching it in Turkey - but still made it for all the Strauss.  One of my bucket list activities is to be in Vienna for New Year - Die Flaudermaus at Vienna State Opera House on 31st December, and then see many of the same musicians in the Vienna Philharmonic the following morning at the New Year's Day concert at the splendid Musikverein.  My fantasy is to play the cymbals in the traditional encore performance of Radetsky March - but I guess just clapping along will have to suffice, as I did in my lounge/salon today!  (If you've never seen it, or even if you see it every year, here is the performance from 2014, with Daniel Barenboim, also today's conductor, who leaves the orchestra to get on with it whilst he walks amongst them shaking hands!  Four minutes guaranteed to put a smile on your face.) 

Back to earth after all this uplifting stuff,  I walked via the park to get a few provisions from Asda, and spent much of the late afternoon, early evening, binge watching the 1995 BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. Colin Firth's Mr Darcy, is simply the best, tho' I think that the televised '09 adaptation of Emma that I saw last week gives this production a good run for its money. 

I also started to take down the Christmas decs. Always a tedious activity.  Gareth came for dinner and then we both the watched Downton Abbey movie whilst he started to assemble another recently purchased bedroom furniture unit for me. He enjoys doing it, which I definitely do not so over to you, bro. I'll stick to my knitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.