They did not need a bigger boat.

A play about making the film Jaws. The whole set was just a cut through section of the boat, the Orca, where the three performers had to wait for the mechanical  sharks to be repaired before they could start work. It was not successfully mended at any point during the play.  The performance was very good with lots of funny lines, with several disparaging remarks about future Spielberg films, such as ET and Jurassic Park.
It was an evening performance, straight through for 90 minutes without a break. Whilst my bladder stood up well my bum and legs ached a lot when we finally got up.
We were going to have a meal in a specific restaurant before the play started but they had no tables so following an unsuccessful scrabble around several other we ended up at Pizza Express. The meal was fine and I probably suited this place more than one that is a bit posh.
After the play we were taken to the Cecil Beaton Bar, attached to Threatre Royal Drury Lane. This place should also be well out of my normal comfort zone but they were so welcoming , helpful and pleasant I really enjoyed an hour or so there. The drinks menu was extensive and had some strange items as well as a variety of cocktails. I chose a G and T, but it was a coconut and grapefruit gin and a very different make of tonic. I will say the idea of sitting in the garden with a jug of Coconut and Grapefruit gin, mixed with tonic and lots of ice, on a warm sunny afternoon came to mind as I sipped my drink. Unfortunately when we left Cecil's it was dark, cold, wet and windy but I could still recall the summer garden plan. It was gone 2.00am when we finally got home, an unheard of time for us. Lie in tomorrow (or today as it now is).
One thing really struck me was how empty the tubes were. We went on the Central line through Liverpool St. Bank and St.Pauls stations just after 5pm. The platforms were sparse and there were still seats available in the carriages. Several decades ago I used to use this line and it was so rammed that you were lucky if you could find somewhere to get both feet on the floor, let alone sit. There have been lots of changes as a result of Covid

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.