WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

It was Good to get Out!

8/365  Our Day

It rained and rained and rained all morning, we stayed in mostly,
Apart from man and dog venturing out on ‘business’.
When the rain stopped, we donned our waterproofs and wellies 
And set off northwards along the muddy, puddly canal path
Passing the moored boats with their quirky names and smoking chimneys.
When the sun broke through, the flooded fields glistened through the grass
A Merganser paddled past, her auburn crowning glory a raggedy mess.
We only walked as far as the road bridge - a mile - then turned back.
‘Look up there’ I said. 
Low in the sky a sparrow hawk hovered before being chased by a gull
We crossed the swing bridge and were greeted by hopeful geese and ducks
We had nothing to give them and anyway the dog got too close,
‘Leave them Bella!’
As we boarded the boat, the grey clouds were lined with pure gold
Reflected in the canal.

Today’s poem didn’t turn out as I hoped but at least it records our day.
The rainy morning was spent reading yesterday’s paper. It was strange because the Friday Guardian had the Saturday supplements inside. 
I also played ukulele before teatime. That’s one challenge I have failed at!
I was meant to do 15 minutes a day starting on the 1st Jan but have only just got round to it. Never mind, I’m not being too strict with myself about that. Frank accompanied me on a couple of songs on piano which was nice.
I’ve started reading ‘Where The Crawdads Sing’ by Delia Owens. So far so good!
Hope your Saturday has been a good one
Goodnight :-) X

Our boat is the 2nd to last before the white one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.