Social

The Minx set off to London, today, to go and see 'The Life Of Pi' with a couple of pals. Given that I wasn't a particular fan of the book or the film, and don't really enjoy theatre, this worked out well all 'round!

We did have the morning together in the office, though, but she finished for the day at lunchtime, and I was thus left to my own devices. So, after clearing the handful of things I needed to get done, I set off for Cutting Room Square to meet Simon for a late lunch at Elnecot*.

Sometimes I can walk through town and be quite happily lost in my own little world, but today the homelessness and evidence of poverty hit home hard for some reason. In fact, by the time I reached the restaurant, I felt quite low. Fortunately, Simon was the ideal tonic, and it turned out that my despair was readily convertible to anger at the government.

Later on, I had my first German lesson, which was a bit of a struggle online, although it was good enough for me to feel confident that this is the way forward. It looks as though we will be able to move to face to face meetings, anyway, and then I think it will be just fine.

And the in the evening, I walked down to meet Yoss, my music tutor, for a couple of beers at the King's Arms. Well, it was supposed to be a couple. Actually, it was quite a few more than that, and, for some reason, every round included a shot of sambuca. We had for or five and then moved back to the New Oxford for a nightcap. Much more of an evening than I expected but most enjoyable.

*This looks like it should be someone's name spelt backwards - like Trebor - but it isn't. Well, unless the owner is called Tocenle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.