Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Red

Breaking the rules again but I had to post this bird!

We walked after lunch yesterday at a new place, Congaree Creek Heritage Preserve, a winding 3 mile path through the forest mostly along the creek and the swamp that is made when flooded.    This is one of the creeks that ravaged the area it traveled through back in 2015 when we had the 1000 year flood.   

We saw some birds and I was really looking for an owl.  No luck there but then we saw this red dart in the sky.   Apparently it was moving berries from one tree to the dead tree that had broken off.   I had the Canon SX60 which is an okay camera for STILL subjects and for arms that do not shake so I had to take many shots.  I did not have the tripod or monopod but I used Jerry's shoulder to rest the camera and told him not to breathe!     

I was happy with these four (out of 26) shots as this is the first time that I can remember being able to get a photo of a redheaded woodpecker. 

I am still looking for the owls.   I know they are in this area of swamp.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.