twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

Catching up (kinda)

The last game of the season for Alex's school team.

I already knew we were on for a hiding; the coach had called me Monday AM to schedule the game. (I actually used this as an example in my recent interview of studying data / looking for trends as a means of making inferences. My plan with Alex's team is to confirm any fixture on Wednesday of a week; ask about availability, pick a team Thursday night, and figure out a plan on Friday. I have subsequently worked out that if a team contacts me before Wednesday, then they're keen, which equals good and I need to consider picking a strong squad. If I end up arranging the fixture, then a weaker squad will do. For my recent HMRC interview I explained in very basic terms that there was near perfect correlation between the our results and when the fixture had been arranged and the result. OK, there's mitigating factors like our star man was Covid positive for this fixture, but still...)

So yes, we lost 13.-4; I'd already decided to give the strongest 7 the whole first half and the next strongest 7 all the second half. We matched up pretty well initially - 4-3 down at half time; the second half was a bit more one sided....!

Muddy smiling kids went home for lunch.

She came down in the afternoon to pick up bread (She walked through the  rain) and I chummed Her to Lidl and then across the wasteland nd onto a 47 halfway up Waterfront Avenue before ambling home myself to put dinner on for them there lads. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.