Seals or sea lions? I never know!

A couple of days after Marya arrived, we decided to take a three days and head to Big Sur. This is something I'd dreamed of doing for decades, and to make it feel perfect, she had made reservations at the Big Sur Lodge.

Having spent the night before at a beautiful spot in Monterey, on Cannery Row (oh how times have changed) we headed to the beauty of 17 Mile Drive just north of Carmel.

It was a wonderful, slow and relatively simple drive, and though it was freezing cold, the day was sunny. After several adventures, we had a beautiful lunch at a tiny restaurant in Carmel, enjoying the warmth inside as well as the friendly atmosphere and endless wonderful streaming of Andrea Bocelli to make the food taste even better.

From Carmel south on Hwy 1, I found driving to become more and more difficult for me. By the time we reached the Bixby Bridge, I found myself pulling off the side of the road and sobbing like a baby. Deep awful sobs, and dear Marya having to see her mother suddenly overcome with a deep regret and fear about going on any farther.

It was as if I had been here before, and it was not to a good end. Everything looked so familiar, and yet foreboding. Marya offered to drive, but it was no use...I could not go on at all. Even the thought of just closing my eyes while she drove, set me into shivers.

Being one that knows how to look for signs, she asked the Universe for a sign, and picked up some notes she had made for our reservations and so on. She had also haphazardly scribbled the name of a book she wanted to get later and as she picked up the paper, her eyes fell upon the words "Big Sur Death" where the scribbles had come together just so.

"Ah Momma" she said lovingly "Look here where we are. I have been all along this road before, and this is the loveliest spot. Imagine seeing these beautiful cows right here in this gorgeous green along the ocean cliffs! Let's just take some photos and go home to visit more with the girls. Besides, I want to see the baby!"

I could not take any photos. But, I stood and enjoyed the view with her as she did so. I have no idea what it is that shook me up so much, perhaps a past life memory or something else, but it was a powerful feeling and one that was momentarily paralyzing.

Once we made it back to where we could get a phone signal, Marya called to cancel our Big Sur Lodge reservations, and though the woman on the other line had been adamant and downright rude about paying whether you come or not, she didn't charge us the whole fee. Marya said she had the feeling the gal was putting a code in the reservation listing, as if quite a few decide to turn around for fear of the roadway getting there. She was pretty understanding after all.

Marya is a great driver, and got us back to the hotel via the nice wide freeways (now seen so - haha) which we had avoided before and she got some time with her sisters, and I got some time to realize..."hey, I think I have caught this bug that Ed has" oy...

It was a memorable time, and I am so glad Marya and I had that time together, a time I will always be grateful for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.