Darning

I don't think my mother would recognise this as darning, but it is the same principle, just done for fun rather than for any practical purpose. In this new age of repair, mend and re-use it would seem that darning is making a comeback for mending holes in garment, especially jeans. Much more decoratively done than was the case in the past. 

Here is my mother's darning mushroom used to hold the sock, or whatever, taut whilst the stitching was done. It looks well used. I don't remember my mother darning, but I guess she must have done. 

Darning was the idea for the week's flag project and it is proving much more tricky than I imagined. In fact this piece is not good at all. The fabric is too loosely woven, I am not happy with the colours of thread I chose, my stitches are all over the place, making weaving very difficult. In fact I will probably call this a practice and start again, having learnt a lot. 

I have had an afternoon of stitching whilst Gordon has been to watch football in Carlisle. Beginning to watch The Beatles: Get Back  tonight. We only have a month to watch it, so we had better get started. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.