Fish Talk

I decided to investigate the Wigan Flashes this afternoon. I have never been, and was surprised the journey took me only a bit over 20 minutes.

Situated just two miles south of Wigan town centre, it is an extensive area dissected by the Leeds Liverpool canal where coal mining has caused the land to subside. This has created a variety of habitats over time - pools and lakes, large reedbeds, wet woodland, and clearings.

I only had time for a cursory visit, There are networks of footpaths, and the area seems popular with dog walkers in particular. But there is plenty of space. I will have to come back and explore further, and hopefully visit with J too.

In this image I am looking over the Canal towards Scotsman’s Flash. These two were engaged in some seriously fishy conversation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.